Wednesday, March 9, 2022

The regular meeting of the Irene-Wakonda School was held on Wednesday, March 9, 2022 at the Wakonda School Meeting/Memorabilia Room. Members present were Carla Marshall, Amanda Healy, Mike Logue, Brian Spurrell and Eric Anderson. Administrators present were Dave Hutchison, Pam Rudd, Deb Lyle and Bruce Bailey. Others present were Stacey Kirschenman, Sandy Wolfswinkle, Casey Pollman, Zoe Brewer, Ali Kirschenman, Emma Logue and Elsie Thompson.

Mike Logue, Board President, called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Motion was made by Eric Anderson and seconded by Carla Marshall to adopt the agenda. Motion carried.

Motion was made by Brian Spurrell and seconded by Amanda Healy to approve the following consent agenda

items;

The minutes of the regular March meeting

The financial reports: General Fund, Capital Outlay Fund, Special Ed Fund, Food Service Fund, Driver's Ed Fund and Trust & Agency Fund

The bills for the Irene-Wakonda School District

Bus diesel quotes:

Gerstner – 0 Klaudt - #2 - \$4.1220 CFC - #2 - \$4.00 and #1 - \$4.30

Accept quote from CFC

Heating fuel quotes

Gerstner - 0 Klaudt - #2 - \$3.8470 CFC - #2 - \$3.73

Accept quote from CFC

Upcoming meetings and events were discussed and long with the NPIP/SDUSA reports, legislative reports and the Principal's and teacher reports.

Public input

Motion was made by Eric Anderson and seconded by Carla Marshall to review the "Return to School" Plan and "ARP Esser Plan. Motion carried.

Appointments were made for the Local Board of Equalization Meetings:

Turner/Daneville Townships – Brian Spurrell; Bethal /Star Townships – Mike Logue; City of Wakonda – Eric Anderson; Mayfield Township – Amanda Healy; City of Irene - Carla Marshall

Motion was made by Brian Spurrell and seconded by Amanda Healy to approve the following work agreements; Natalie Grimm – One-Act Play advisor - \$739.38; School Play advisor - \$1,175.00; Amanda Haas – School Play advisor -\$1,175.00; Brent Mutchelknaus – Bus Driver starting in the 22-23 school year. \$11,035.00 bus routes; \$11.35 per hour; \$13.50 – shuttle; \$100 bonus in November. Motion carried.

Motion was made by Carla Marshall and seconded by Eric Anderson to approve the following resignations: Angie Logue – On-Line Learning Center and Carla Ostrem – Elementary Librarian. The board would like to thank each of them for their years of service to our school. Motion carried.

Discussion was held on the opt out renewal.

Motion was made by Carla Marshall and seconded by Eric Anderson to go into executive session at 7:11 p.m. SDCL 1-25-2.1, 1-25.2.1; 1-25-2.2 Motion carried.

Mike Logue, Board President, declared executive session over at 7:33 p.m.

Motion was made by Carla Marshall and seconded by Brian Spurrell to move the April school board meeting to Tuesday, April 12, 2022 at 6:00 p.m. in Irene. Motion carried.

Motion was made by Amanda Healy and seconded by Eric Anderson to adjourn at 7:39 p.m. Motion carried.